top of page


Grow Ellsworth County

is a registered 501(c)(6) governed by a Board of Directors representing the County.  We are funded through a variety of sources, including our taxing entities (county and municipalities) and through business investments.


Executive Board:

Justin Lindsley  |  Board President

Jon Halbgewachs |  Board Vice President

Curt Glaser |  Treasurer

Debbie Kootz  |  Secretary

Peter Solie  |  City of Lorraine

Sarah Freeman  |  City of Kanopolis

Aubrey Ptacek  |  City of Wilson

Sara Oberle  |  City of Holyrood

Rachael Barta  |  Commissioner Bender

Jessica Homolka  | Commissioner Rolfs

Craig Freeman  |  Commissioner Thomas

Colby Richard  |  Membership

Jim Kirkbride  |  Membership

Kregg Clarke  |  Membership

Olivia Stevenson  |  Membership

Student Board Members:

Josie Kueser

Braydon Halbgewachs

the GROW team

Stacie Schmidt

Executive Director

Stacie has a love for living rural, and a passion for promoting community and leadership development.  Stacie has a background in hospitality, and has found her footing as the ECED director in access to capital, grant writing, networking, marketing, and matching people with opportunity.  Stacie is a single mom of two, Britain, 19,  and Brooklyn, 13, and loves supporting them in their extracurricular activities.

Michelle Skurkis

Assistant Director

Michelle is the Assistant Director for Grow Ellsworth County.  Michelle is originally from Wichita, but has been living in Illinois for the past 13 years.  Michelle and her husband recently purchased the school building in Lorraine and plan on living there and running their small businesses from there.  Michelle and her husband Chad have 3 children and 2 dogs. They enjoy spending time with  family and friends, learning more about the area, and love watching the storms roll through. "I’m excited to meet new people and work with Grow Ellsworth County to build a strong community that everyone is proud of."

meeting calendar


What We Do Matters

Professional  |  Ethical
Community Focused
Resilient  |  Adaptive

Accountability & Core Values


The Board of Directors and Staff of Grow Ellsworth County honor our commitment to the community.  We have a track record of success and provide the annual report to the right as a record of the tangible results of the forward-facing work we do in the communities.  Click the image to the right or the button below to read the 2023 Annual Report.

Meeting Reports

Board Meetings listed above are located at the Grow Ellsworth County office, 107 W 2nd St, at 7pm, unless otherwise noted.

Additional information reviewed at board meetings including the Executive Director report and dashboards can be provided by written request in compliance with the Kansas Open Records Act.  Clerical and copies fees and reasonable timeline accommodations will be provided upon review of the request. 

bottom of page